How Actors Guild Elected New Executives…Emeka Rollas, Monalisa, Abubarkar, Others Emerge Winners

Entertainment Headlines News

The general peaceful atmosphere in the oil rich Akwa Ibom state pervaded the general elections of the Actors Guild of Nigeria held at the prestigious Le’meridien hotel (Ibom hotel and Resort).

With the over 187 delegates from 22 states that came for the epoch-making elections, the AGNEC Chairman led by top actor Steve Eboh (Ajeboh) ably supported by Emma Ogugua among others went well as expected.

Excited Commissioner of Culture and Tourism Akwa Ibom Mr. Orman Essien welcomed the guild to the state and urged the guild to chat a new course to the next level saying the state has infrastructure to make movies and that the state would partner the guild for beneficial projects.

Commissioner for Information, Charles Udoh maintained that Nollywood has rebranded Nigeria and that the government of Akwa Ibom is transforming the sleepy town to an industrialised and agricultural hub in Nigeria.

Director General, Censors Board, Thomas Adedayo who was ably represented declared the election opened as he urged all participants to do well advising losers to support the guild to move forward.

Chairman, Board of Trustee (BoT) Prince Ifeanyi Dike dream thanked AGNEC for being strong and resolute for making the event take place. He reiterated the gesture of sportsmanship of losers congratulating the winner so that the guild would move forward. “It is all about service,” said Dike.

The contestants reeled out their manifestoes after which delegates asked them questions.

But for the posts of Public Relations Officer (PRO) which has Frank Dallas and Monalisa Chinda – Coker as contestants and the post of Secretary which was between, Abubarkar Sanusi and Don Pedro Aganbi, the rest were unopposed.

However, before voting took place, Don Pedro Aganbi announced his withdrawal citing ‘national interest’ for his action.

Newly elected president of the guild, Ejezie Emeka Rollas thanked all for the peaceful conduct and promised to carry everyone along for the betterment of the guild. He also promised to do more than he did during his tenure as Interim government of national unity.

At the end of the election, the following became the new executives of the Actors Guild of Nigeria.


  1. National President – Emeka Rollas Ejezie


  1. Vice President North Central- Mohammed Kareem


  1. Vice President North West -Wassh Waziri Hong


  1. Vice President South East-Lolo Oby Kate Okafor


  1. Vice President South West – David Babafemi Branch


  1. Secretary General – Abubakar Sanusi


  1. Assistant Secretary General – Chelsea Raphael Nwodo


  1. Financial Secretary, Emeka Duru.


  1. Treasurer – Maradona Mikevine Paul


  1. Public Relations Officer, Coker Monalisa Chinda


  1. Director of Guild Services — Anigbo Clement Cowboy.


  1. Chief Whip – Adigizi Bala.


North East Vice President did not win because he couldn’t make 2/3 of the total vote.

Bar. Ikechukwu Ezenagu and South South Vice president were disqualified because they were absent and by AGN constitution no proxy voting for, against or candidature.

Article 4; section 4; e ” only members present for the election shall vote and be voted for.”

Other dignitaries at the event include Desmond Elliot, Rita Edochie, John Okafor (Mr. Ibu), Mojisola Oyatayo (Mama Ajasco), Ochendo McSmith, Fred Amata, Bolaji Amusan (Mr. Latin), Uche Elenu, Ralph Nwadike, Imeh Bishop, Pastor Goddy Goddy, Moses Armstrong, Segun Arinze, Ronnie Dikko, among others





Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *